Clinique – Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief Review

October 1, 2012 § Leave a comment

Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relef

Official Website

Light, comfortable cream/gel plumps skin with hydration for a full 24 hours. Fine lines, flakiness and tightness are washed away. In their place—a sense of supple, firm, vibrant well-being, even through shifts in humidity. One ‘drink’ and skin looks and feels happier, healthier. Oil-free.

I first purchased Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief in April and it lasted me for about 3 month. I really liked it so I bought this 2nd jar at Sephora when it run out, but I did not start using it right a way because I wanted to try the sample jar of ALGENIST Overnight Restorative Cream. After I decided not to use the ALGENIST cream any more, I pulled this moisturizer out of my skincare stash and I have to say, I still love this moisturizer.

Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relef Inside

As you can see above, it is a light salmon pink coloured gel moisturizer. One might expect it to be light because it it a gel moisturizer but it feels rather heavy when first applied to the face. The gel is pretty firm instead of being watery. It leaves a slightly sticky layer of gel on my face for about 3-5 minutes, but it quickly gets absorbed to my skin and my face feels really smooth and shine-less afterwards. It feels so smooth that I think powder/mineral foundation will apply nicely on top of this moisturizer; however, I do not recommend this moisturizer for morning because it takes some time to settle. When it’s not dry, it is quite sticky so it will definitely interfere with any liquid or powder foundation.

Although I have oily combination skin, I need a good moisturizer that keeps moisture locked in my skin, otherwise my skin just produce more oil. This oil-free moisturizer does just that and my skin feels nice and supple without extra oiliness. I also notice my pores appears smaller after I use this. Although it is called “Extended Thirst Relief” and it says it’s for all skin type, I do not recommend this for dry or mature skin because it doesn’t feel like it will be enough especially in winter time.

It is CA$44 for 1.7 oz and CA$59 for 2.5 oz. The one I have is the smaller 1.7 oz jar and it last me about 3 month when I use it every night. Considering how much I like this moisturizer, I might purchase the bigger jar next time.

Pros:

  • Oil-free, skin does not feel oily after
  • Enough moisture for oily to normal skin
  • Easily accessible (Any department stores, Sephora, online etc.)
  • Affordable in my opinion (CA$44/3 month = CA$0.48/day)

Cons:

  • Feels sticky right after applying
  • Takes some time to absorb

My Final Rating: 4.5/5

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Clinique – Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief Review at Cosmetic Junkie.

meta

