Maybelline – One by One Volume Express Mascara Satin Black Review

September 11, 2012 § Leave a comment

Maybelline_OneByOne_Mascara_Main

Official Website

Finally, bold without the bulk! Instant clump-free volume.
The lash catcher brush makes every lash count
3 bristles per lash catch, coat and de-clump

I purchased this in the States like I said in my Mini Haul, but in case you didn’t read it, it was US$5.96. Considering the regular price for these in Canada is like $7.99 (I heard it goes on sale for $4.99 sometimes but I’ve never seen it that cheap yet), I say it was great deal.

So the brush of this mascara looks like below:

Maybelline_OneByOne_Mascara_Brush

It is not the biggest brush, but the middle part is pretty thick. My eye sockets are not so deep, so the brush does touch my eyelid a little bit if I’m not careful. Still, it is a easy to use brush and I can coat my lashes without clumps like what they say on the website. Here is how it looks on my eyelash:

Maybelline_OneByOne_Mascara_Swatch01

I bought the waterproof version in Satin Black. I know I can always count on Maybelline’s waterproof mascaras to hold my lashes curled all day. As you can see in the photo above, it looks exactly same after 3 hours. When I got home after 5 hours, it still looked the same.

I haven’t been wearing much make-up lately so I only applied 1 coat, but this mascara is definitely buildable. The brush really works great so you can at least get 2 coats without combing your lashes. The colour Satin Black is very deep matte black. It is not glossy or does not have any shimmer in it. It is not particularly volumizing nor lengthing  but it is good enough for daily/casual look. If you have naturally full lashes, I think it will work amazing. The only thing that concerns me is that it smudges a little. After 2-3 hours, I can see moderate raccoon eyes… I can prevent this by applying mattifying powder under my eyes, but it might be a concern for some people.

Pros

  • Affordable and easy to find at any local drug store
  • No clump, separating
  • Keeps lashes curled all day (waterproof version only)

Cons

  • Smudges a little (If you have oily skin)

My Final Rating: 4.5/5

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Maybelline – One by One Volume Express Mascara Satin Black Review at Cosmetic Junkie.

meta

